Special Olympics 2019 - Grand Opening Ceremony

The Special Olympics International Football Championship 2019 had its grand Inaugural Ceremony at the Nehru Indoor Stadium on August 3rd.

The event, was organised by SOIFC 2019 Hosting Partner Evoke Media and was presided over by music composer/director Ilayaraaja, Chairman of SRM Group, actress Varalaxmi Sarathkumar, Ravi Pachamoothoo, Dr. Mohammed Asif Ali, Dewan to the Prince of Arcot, Dr. Mallika Nadda, Vice-Chairperson of Special Olympics Bharat, Honourable Acting Consul General Kent May of the US Consulate Chennai, Cilvin Jayakumar, Founder – Evoke Media, and Dr. Amar Prasad Reddy, Chairman of Special Olympics International Football Championship 2019.

The ceremony consisted of a Special Parade by all 14 participating teams from 11 countries, a torch run with the Special Olympics’ Flame of Hope, the taking of the Special Olympic oath, and performances by the special athletes of Rasa Academy, Kings United, Tron Dance, and Staccato. The audience consisted of thousands of special children, college and school students, and the general public.